Late Night Write

Hello Darling Hearts,

There are some nights that I just can’t sleep. Or I wake up on the middle of the night and can’t go back to sleep.

Either way I wind up staring at the darkened ceiling, waiting for sleep. Sometimes it comes quickly, other times not so much.

But I’ve found a bit of a remedy for that.

I write.

I’m not the best writer, but I am a writer.

That doesn’t mean anything except that I love writing. It gives me a sense of peace. And I adore it.

And sometimes I’ll write everything out, fall asleep, and not think about the next morning.

So finding this in my Google Keep on my tablet was a bit of a surprise.

Apparently I wrote this in the middle of the night a couple of months ago:

The Night Hour

 The night hours move so slowly. Too slowly. How is it that when you’re peacefully asleep, absorbed in your fascinating dreams, that it seems to go by so fast? Is life the same way? Everyone says life goes by too fast. Does that perhaps mean that everyone is enjoying their life and doesn’t want it to end? And the ones who take their own life are the ones who aren’t dreaming, but rather, waiting for the hours to pass? So they take their life to end the waiting. Choosing to never see the sunrise in order to abstain from the long hours spent in darkness. Is that not like life itself? Those who wait quietly in the darkness will be the ones to see the splendor of the sunrise. Those who end their waiting because of the pain are the ones who never see the light, never feel the joy. There are things to appreciate about the night. It is quiet, for one. But when I am stuck here, without any hope of sleep, I find myself less appreciative of the silence. I suppose there is something to be learned there as well. We are less appreciative of the things we have when we long for the things we don’t. I know this is true, for when the day is drawing to a close, I am ready for the night. I go to sleep at night prepared to wake up to a new day. Spending my time looking forward to what comes next, I forget to live in and appreciate the now.

My late night ramblings seemed worthy of a share, so I did.

I hope you got something out of it.

Enjoy it? Love writing yourself?

I’d love hearing from you! Just leave your blog in the comments below and I’ll pop over for a bit.

Signature

3 thoughts on “Late Night Write

Leave a Reply

