My 2015 Book List

Hello Darling Hearts!

I recently purchased Leonie Dawson’s 2015 Create Your Shining Year Workbook and so far I am loving it!

There are so many amazing pages full of inspiration! (A preview of those pages)

One of the recent pages I filled out was the “Books I’d Like to Read” page.

Last year I read one of the best books I have ever read. It was called Little Bee by Chris Cleave. It was probably one of the craziest emotional roller coasters of a book I’ve ever read.

I usually hate sad endings. I feel this way because I think that there are enough sad endings in the world already, and I usually want to read a book that gets me away from all of that.

But Little Bee was different.

I found that book sitting in the $2 section at the Galveston Bookstore. (Funny isn’t it? I would pay $20 for it now, having read it.)  I read the back and felt the need to buy it. So I followed my instinct. And I’m glad I did.

After reading Little Bee, I decided I wanted to read more books that made me feel. Books that made me think. That inspired me to be better.

So I started looking.

I found so many books that I can’t wait to start reading. I hope they will be just as great as they sound. I thought I might take a minute and share some of my list with you now.

So, let’s begin!


I have read many of Maya’s books, and found them all quite phenomenal. She is an amazing writer. Though blunt and to the point, her writing is also somehow whimsical. Almost magical. Through her books, she’ll take you on an adventure.

This book is solely poetry, 32 poems to be exact. I’ll share the one that inspired the title here and let you decide what you think of Dr. Angelou’s writing.

Still I Rise by Maya Angelou


You may write me down in history

With your bitter, twisted lies,

You may tread on me in the very dirt,

But still, like dust, I’ll rise.


Does my sassiness upset you?

Why are you beset with gloom?

‘Cause I walk like I got oil wells

Pumping in my living room.


Just like moons and like suns,

With the certainty of the tides,

Just like hopes springing high,

Still I’ll rise.


Did you want to see me broken?

Bowed head and lowered eyes?

Shoulders falling down like teardrops.

Weakened by my soulful cries.


Does my haughtiness offend you?

Don’t you take it awful hard

‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines 

Diggin’ in my own backyard.


You may shoot me with your words,

You may cut me with your eyes,

You may kill me with your hatefulness,

But still, like air, I’ll rise.


Out of the hut’s of history’s shame

I rise

Up the past that’s rooted in pain

I rise

I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,

Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear

I rise

Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear

I rise

Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,

I am the dream and the hope of a slave

I rise

I rise

I rise.



How do I even begin to follow that up?

There are no words. I’ll just get on to the next book.

Which, incidentally, is by a great friend of Maya’s:

In 1998, Oprah interviews a film critic by the name of Gene Siskel. He asked her the question “What do you know for sure?”

In the years following that interview, that question has stayed with Oprah and she continues to answer it monthly in her O Magazine. Now it is the title of her autobiography.

I’m not sure how well this will pan out, as I am not a fan of graphic novels. However, this is supposed to be an excellent read, so I am going to give it a shot.

It’s an autobiographical novel by Marjane Satrapi, and it depicts her life during the Islamic Revolution.

Miracles Now: 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding Your True Purpose

Gabrielle Bernstein’s newest book is about eliminating stress and finding peace, without trying to find “the time” to do it. I flipped through this while sitting at Barnes and Noble a bit ago, and I think I’m really going to like this one!

(If you decide to purchase this as well, feel free to use the link above, copy your receipt, and then leave me a comment down below. I have a special link to give you for some free Gabby gifts!)

How to Be a Woman


This seems to be a fun read. I wanted something girly, that, though serious, could still make me laugh. I sincerely hope I’ll find that with this book.

May I Be Happy: A Memoir of Love, Yoga, and Changing My Mind

As I’m trying to change my very negative perspective on life, I thought that this would be quite appropriate.

Thanks for joining me dear ones!

If you have any other suggestions for me feel free to leave them in the comments. I love reading, and would love to have more to read!

If you’ve read any of these books, also feel free to leave me your honest review. Loved it? Hated it? Please share your opinion!

Signature

One thought on “My 2015 Book List

Leave a Reply

