Your Blog is YOURS: Don’t Obey Every Blogging Rule

Hello Dear One!

If you’ve ever tried blogging, you probably read a book about it, or read a couple of blog posts on the subject, did a little research, etc…..

And what did you most likely find?

A list (or lists) of “Blogging Don’ts”.

I have found many of these lists. Many, many, many, of these lists.

And while some of them do offer great tips, (add pictures for your readers, add labels (or tags) so that people can find your blog posts via search engine, spell check,), most of them are just people sharing “rules” that they themselves have made up.

That doesn’t work.

It doesn’t work because you can’t tell someone else how to run their blog. I can’t tell someone else how to run their blog. I can offer suggestions. I can share helpful tips and tutorials that I have learned, but I can’t give you a set of rules and say “Here. These work. Go do as I have done.”

No.

Wrong.

Do not pass go. Do not collect $200.

Why wouldn’t that work? For the same reason that I can’t say “Go do 20 sit-ups a day and by the end of the week you will have lost exactly 5 pounds. It will work. It did for me”

That wouldn’t work. If it did it was pure luck. And just because it worked for you and me, wouldn’t mean it will work for everyone that I gave that advice to.

And even if it did, once you’ve got your blog up and running the way everyone else wants it to be, is it really your blog anymore?

Not every blogger works the same.

Some people spend hundreds of dollars on their blog, some spend hardly anything.

Some people use social media to help drive blog traffic. Other people never sign up for those things.

Some people post more than 50 times a week on their blog. Some post less than 10.

That means nothing.

Just because you post more, or spend more, or advertise more, doesn’t make you any better than any other blogger.

As a matter of fact, they could post once a year and be just as good, if not better than, you.

Here is the one and ONLY blogging rule that applies to absolutely everyone:

DO NOT OBEY EVERYONE ELSE’S BLOGGING RULES. OBEY ONLY YOUR OWN.

THAT’S IT.

As I mentioned, I’ve read many other blogging rules. They annoy me. They tick me off.

I read one that said something along the lines of “Don’t center your posts. No one likes that. Align them to the left.”

Um. NO.

NO.

NO. 

Thank you!

I have always like centering my posts. One day, I might decide not to center them, but that will be because I decided that I like them better aligned to the left.

Me. Not some blogger who has no idea who I am, and yet has amazingly already decided what needs to be done to “fix” me and my screwed up blogging skills.

Here’s another one: “Don’t put music on your blog. It annoys me and if I hear it I instantly close the tab.”

Yeah… I’m probably not missing you!

I currently at the time of this post don’t have music. However, if I decide that I want to put music on here, then music there will be.

Will I be considerate and allow you to turn it on if you want to listen to it? Yes. Not because I was told to, but because it is the decent thing to do. I don’t want to blast your eardrums out because you had the volume up loud when you opened my blog.

But don’t decide that because you don’t like music on blogs, that no one else should like it.

If you like music, play it.

It is YOUR blog after all.

There are many more “rules” that I have seen that annoy me, but I would hate to keep you here for four hours.

So let me just get right down to it.

If you start a blog, do what you think is right. 

If you read a blogging “rule” and agree, then do that. Great. If later you change your mind, great.

It’s great to read other bloggers tips and tutorials. Because if they’ve been blogging longer than you, or have a better understanding of how computers work, than they most likely know a little more than you do.

They can help you learn from their mistakes and from their achievements.

That is great. It’s a great idea to read other blogs. It’s a great idea to take suggestions.

But at the end of the day it is your blog.

Do what you think it right.

Maybe later, you’ll discover it wasn’t right AT ALL. Or maybe you’ll love that you made that decision.

Either way, you learned something.

I learned this from a mistake.

When I first started blogging, I listened to every other blogger out there.

If someone wrote that people wouldn’t like my blog header unless it was smaller, bloop…. there went my blog header. Smaller.

I did everything that other successful blogs said. And, in the end, I had a blog that I didn’t even enjoy looking at.

That isn’t how it’s supposed to be.

You’re supposed to enjoy yourself when you blog. Not just do it because you feel like you have to.

If you really want to blog, then blog. 

I know it sounds simple, but there it is.

Blog your way. 

Enjoy yourself. 

Learn as you go along.

Only listen to suggestions you want to listen to.

And guess what? 

You’ll develop a group of followers who love you for you and your blog for what it is.

And that is the key to blogging.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something that can help you,

Leave a Reply

